• <input id="8wm4i"></input>
    <menu id="8wm4i"></menu>
  • <menu id="8wm4i"></menu>
    Business Standard special on ICC WORLD TEST CHAMPIONSHIP
    You are here » Home » Sports ? ICC World Test Championship
    • England

      583-8 dec


      273 & 187-4

      Match drawn
    • England




      Match drawn
    • New Zealand


      West Indies


      Thursday 03 Dec 2020, 03:30 IST
    • New Zealand


      West Indies


      Friday 11 Dec 2020, 03:30 IST
    • Australia




      Thursday 17 Dec 2020, 09:30 IST

    Point Table

    Position Teams Played PCT(%)

    World Test Championship

    The International Cricket Council (ICC) on July 30 launched the inaugural World Test Championship, setting the stage for a long tournament in red-ball cricket to determine the World Test Champion.

    The two-year affair comprises top nine Test teams-- Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies -- who will compete in 71 matches in 27 series.

    Each team will play three home and three away series. The top two teams at the end will compete in the ICC World Test Championship Final in the UK in June 2021. The nine teams will figure in 27 series with the champions decided after 71 Test matches. The final will be played in June 2021 in the UK.

    The first Ashes Test between England and Australia at Edgbaston marked the inaugural game of the event.

    India will not play against Pakistan because each team has picked six opponents by mutual agreement, within the existing framework of the Members rights agreements. Also, the teams can play matches outside the World Test Championship during this period.

    Accordingly, The Indian team would be playing against West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Australia and England. India will play away series against West Indies, New Zealand and Australia.

    The Host Board is responsible for all organizational matters including venues, broadcast, ticketing, etc. The ICC is responsible for overseeing the competition by way of providing match officials and ensuring matches are played as per the World Test Championship playing conditions and competition terms. The ICC is also responsible for delivery of the finals.

    In the Test Championship, a series can have a minimum of two matches and a maximum of five matches. Every match will be a five-day affair. Teams can play day-night Tests by mutual agreement. The WTC will be played over two years across different continents. The matches will be played just like any bilateral series but with the added context of a competition and one champion team.