• <input id="8wm4i"></input>
    <menu id="8wm4i"></menu>
  • <menu id="8wm4i"></menu>
    Business Standard
    You are here » Home » Mamata Banerjee


    The Chief Minister of West Bengal since 2011, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee previously a member of the Congress party. She founded the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) in 1997 and was elected as a member of Parliament seven times before contesting West Bengal Assembly elections and taking over as the state's chief minister.
    At present, she represents the Bhabanipur constituency in the state Assembly. A painter and a poet by interest, Banerjee established herself as a major force in West Bengal in 2011 after ending 34 years of CPI(M) rule in the state. She led her party, the Trinamool Congress, to victory in 34 of the 42 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, and won a second term as CM with a landslide mandate in the 2016 Assembly elections. Banerjee, popularly called 'Didi', has previously had stints as a Union minister in three central governments during both National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) regimes. With her vast experience in politics, Mamata has now emerged as one of the prime challengers to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's bid to get re-elected to power in 2019.
    For about a year, Mamata Banerjee has toured the country in an effort to shore up a strong and united Opposition front to fight the Lok Sabha elections against the BJP. The fruit of her labour was visible in the mega Opposition Unity rally held in Kolkata On January 19, 2019.